HELP FILE

How to Set up Technician Monitoring Options

This article gives guidance to Rescue Administrators.

Set up authentication requirements for administrators attempting to monitor a technician's desktop. Control how technicians will be notified when they are being monitored.

  1. Select the Global Settings tab.
  2. Under Technician monitoring, select from the following options:
    Option Description
    Credentials required for authentication Select this option to allow monitoring only by users with an administrative account on the monitored technician's computer. Select any user to allow monitoring by users with any user account type on the monitored technician's computer.
    Disable technician monitoring Select this option to turn off technician monitoring. When disabled, no technician desktop can be monitored by the organization.
    Notify technician about desktop monitoring
    • Select upon login to the Technician Console if you want technicians to be shown only a single message upon logging in to the Technician Console listing users who have permission to monitor the technician's desktop without providing notification.
    • Select every time monitoring starts to notify technicians each time they are being monitored.
    Note: When the Disable technician monitoring setting is enabled, the setting every time monitoring starts is automatically selected. This cannot be changed. Technicians will not receive any notification about desktop monitoring.
  3. Click Save Changes.

    Result: The settings are applied to all administrators in your Rescue organization.