HELP FILE

How to Join a Collaboration Session

This article gives guidance to Rescue technicians.

With Technician Collaboration, multiple technicians can simultaneously support a single customer. Technicians can improve problem resolution by inviting online and available technicians from inside or outside their Rescue organization to an Active session.

Collaboration is by invitation only.

This procedure assumes you have been invited by a Lead Technician to join a session.

This procedure assumes you have been invited by a Lead Technician from within your own organization.

Administrators can invite themselves using the Technician Monitoring feature. See Monitoring Technicians.

  1. To join a collaboration session, follow the instructions for the appropriate connection method:
    • PIN Code: Go to LogMeIn123.com and enter the PIN code you receive from the lead technician
    • Email: Open the email sent by the lead technician and click the link
    • Link: Open the chat message or other medium containing the link and click the link
    You are prompted to download the Rescue Technician Console .exe file.
  2. Launch the Rescue Technician Console .exe file.
    You are shown any comments from the lead technician and prompted to confirm your name as you want it to be seen by all parties.
  3. Click Join.
    The Technician Console is launched and you join the session.
  4. You see a session on your Session List with the status Invitation. Select the session.
  5. On the Session toolbar, click Start to accept the invitation and join the session.

    Start

    The session appears as Collaborating in the Session List.
  6. You can now participate in the session.
    The Lead Technician has ultimate control over your permissions during the session. See About Collaborating Technician Capabilities.
  7. To leave the session, click the X on the Collaboration Panel (at the top of the Chat panel).
    The session does not end; the Lead Technician remains Active.
  8. To leave the session, close the Technician Console.
    The session does not end; the Lead Technician remains Active.